Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Theater “For the Love of Comrades”

Saturday, September 12th @ 8:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

This acclaimed new play from Northern Ireland uncovers the largely unknown but fascinating alliance between Welsh miners and the lesbian and gay community in Thatcher-era Britain.  Beneath the heel of oppression, the two groups discover that standing together makes for the strongest union of all.  These captivating historical events also inspired the award-winning 2014 film, Pride. By Micheál Kerrigan, with Script Development by Patricia Byrne and Mary Connors. Directed by Jeffrey Hoffman

“Wonderful … so much historical truth, the pain and the joys. A masterpiece!” – Mike Jackson, co-founder of LGSM

Talk backs: Sun, Sep 6 with the playwrights
Sun, Sept 20 with the cast
Sun, Sep 27 with Jill Scott, from the Welsh Government, British Consulate-General. A discussion of the effects of the Miner Strike on Wales

Hilary McColum Reading, September 12
Saturday, Sep 12 at 1pm: Join us for a free event celebrating the American launch of Hilary McCollum’s historical novel, Golddigger, a love story and epic quest spanning the California gold rush and Irish famine. At this event, Hilary will discuss the role of fiction and drama in reclaiming the hidden histories of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans communities. No RSVP required.

Show Times
Friday, 4 Sept. 2015, 8pm (Preview)
Saturday, 5 Sept. 2015, 8pm (Preview)
Sunday, 6 Sept. 2015, 2pm (Preview) – Post-Show Discussion
Sold out! There are no tickets available.
Wednesday, 9 Sept. 2015, 8pm (Preview)
Thursday, 10 Sept. 2015, 8pm (Preview)
Friday, 11 Sept. 2015, 8pm (Preview)
Saturday, 12 Sept. 2015, 8pm – Opening Night Gala
Sold out! There are no tickets available.
Wednesday, 16 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Thursday, 17 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Friday, 18 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Saturday, 19 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Sunday, 20 Sept. 2015, 2pm – with Post-Show Discussion
Wednesday, 23 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Thursday, 24 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Friday, 25 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Saturday, 26 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Sunday, 27 Sept. 2015, 2pm
Wednesday, 30 Sept. 2015, 8pm
Thursday, 1 Oct. 2015, 8pm
Friday, 2 Oct. 2015, 8pm
Saturday, 3 Oct. 2015, 8pm
Sunday, 4 Oct. 2015, 2pm
Wednesday, 7 Oct. 2015, 8pm
Thursday, 8 Oct. 2015, 8pm
Friday, 9 Oct. 2015, 8pm
Saturday, 10 Oct. 2015, 8pm
Sunday, 11 Oct. 2015, 2pm

Details

Date:
Saturday, September 12th
Time:
8:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Venue

New Conservatory Theatre, SF
25 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
415.861.8972
Website:
http://www.nctcsf.org

84xmWB3P_normal     CALENDAR SPONSORED BY THE CONSULATE GENERAL OF IRELAND, SAN FRANCISCO