Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Plots and Plotters: The history of the 1798 Rebellion

April 8 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every day that begins at 11:00am, repeating until Friday, April 9th

$7
This Easter, Clifton House, the home of the Belfast Charitable Society and the original Poor House in Belfast, is running a special series of online talks at a time that would suit our American neighbours across the pond.
Plots and Plotters, the history of the 1798 Rebellion will take place at 6pm, UK time (10am in California / 11am in Texas / 12noon in Chicago & New Orleans / 1pm in Ohio / 1pm in New York) on the 7th, 8th and 9th April 2021 live from Belfast, Northern Ireland, via Zoom.
The one hour talk will explore the history of the reformers and rebels who made the Belfast Charitable Society a “hotbed of radical activity” in the 1790s. Hear about the Joys, McCrackens, McCabe & Cunningham who were on opposing sides of the 1798 United Irishmen Rebellion & how the Charitable Society, and its members, emerged from it, including Dr James Campbell White who went into exile in the United States.
Tickets are around $7 per device (not per person). To find out more, or to book, please visit https://cliftonbelfast.com/whats-on/talks/

Details

Date:
April 8
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Cost:
$7
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://cliftonbelfast.com/whats-on/talks/

Organizer

Clifton House, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Email:
archive@cliftonbelfast.com
Website:
https://cliftonbelfast.com/whats-on/talks/

Venue

Zoom

84xmWB3P_normal     CALENDAR SPONSORED BY THE CONSULATE GENERAL OF IRELAND, SAN FRANCISCO